Washington Mystics forward Elena Delle Donne and Las Vegas Aces forward A'ja Wilson were named team captains for this month's WNBA All-Star Game.

Delle Donne and Wilson received the most fan votes during the starter selection process. Delle Donne received 32,460 votes while Wilson received 26,475.

The captains will select their teams -- named Team Delle Donne and Team Wilson -- for the showcase at Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas on July 27.

For Delle Donne, it is her sixth All-Star Game appearance in as many seasons. The 2015 WNBA MVP is averaging 15.8 points and 8.2 rebounds.

It is Wilson's second selection in two seasons. After winning the 2018 WNBA Rookie of the Year Award, she is averaging 16.4 points and 7.1 rebounds per game in 2019.

In addition to the two captains, the eight other starters were announced. They are the Connecticut Sun's Jonquel Jones, Los Angeles Sparks' Chelsea Gray, Las Vegas Aces' Liz Cambage and Kayla McBride, New York Liberty's Kia Nurse, Phoenix Mercury's Brittney Griner, Seattle Storm's Natasha Howard and Jewell Lloyd.

Howard and Nurse are both first-time All-Stars.

Starters were voted on by fans, media and fellow players. The 12 reserves will be announced Monday. They are voted on by league coaches.

--Field Level Media

Comment about delle donne wilson named wnba all star captains