Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes won the 2018 NFL MVP by a landslide last season after throwing a league-leading 50 touchdown passes. Playing in the Chiefs potent offense and once again surrounded by the likes of TE Travis Kelce and WR Tyreek Hill, Mahomes is the favorite to win the award for a second-consecutive season.  A repeat winner is something that has not happened in a decade since Peyton Manning won the award in 2008 and 2009. Could 2019 be the year?

The odds-on favorite (+400) to win it again, Mahomes will once again take the reins of one of the NFL’s most dynamic offenses. Mahomes will be able to toss the ball all over the yard with Kelce and Hill and once again have the opportunity to throw for over 5,000 yards and 50 touchdowns. Barring injuries, Mahomes is the guy to beat for this year’s NFL MVP award.

2018-2019 NFL Betting Power Ranking: Return On Investment

With a new head coach (Matt LaFleur) and a new system in place, Rodgers just might find himself in the running for the league MVP. It’s nothing new for Rodgers, who checks in at +950 to win. The Green Bay quarterback has won the award twice during his career. Should the Packers turn it around and make it into the postseason, that alone will garner Rodgers some MVP consideration.

Wentz came back last year after a knee injury and limped through the season. Now healthy, his Eagles are a favorite to win the NFC East. His 2017 season was worthy of MVP consideration until the knee injury ended it too soon. If Wentz gets back to that level of play, he makes for a safe bet at +700.

Along with the Patriots Tom Brady, Brees is seemingly ageless. Now 40 years old, Brees has been having MVP caliber seasons for most of his career. Last year, the Saints came up short in the NFC title game, otherwise,  Brees might have challenged Mahomes for the league’s top award. The offense is a little more balanced meaning Brees might not throw for 5,000 yards, but if he guides the Saints to a Super Bowl, an MVP award at +1750 would be a nice payoff.

Choosing The Right Sportsbook For Your NFL Betting

Here’s the surprise pick. Mayfield is given +1150 odds to win the MVP. He is exciting and had his share of big games as a rookie last season. Now, he has an All-Pro WR target in Odell Beckham Jr.  The Browns offense should be exciting and if Mayfield puts up ridiculous numbers the MVP might be his. And, a nice payout could be yours.

Could someone other than a quarterback win the award? If it is anyone, it would be Los Angeles Rams, DT Aaron Donald. The All-Pro defensive lineman has won the last two consecutive NFL Defensive Player of the Year Awards. At +5000, a win by Donald would be a big one. 

Other quarterbacks that might find themselves in the mix are Atlanta’s Matt Ryan (+2000), the Chargers Philip Rivers (+1750), and Seattle’s Russell Wilson (+1750). Should anyone of those teams find themselves playing deep into the postseason, expect their quarterback to be in the MVP discussion.

Odds to Win NFL MVP


Patrick Mahomes +400
Carson Wentz+700
Aaron Rodgers+950
Baker Mayfield+1150
Andrew Luck+1150
Ben Roethlisberger+1250
Deshaun Watson+1450
Jimmy Garoppolo+1450
Drew Brees+1550
Philip Rivers+1750
Russell Wilson+1750
Matt Ryan+2000
Aaron Donald+5000



Comment about favorites to win nfl regular season mvp