MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES: CAN-AM 500(K) (312 laps, 312 miles (500 kilometers) around a 1-mile tri-oval), ISM Raceway; Avondale, Arizona.

TV: Sunday, 2:30 p.m. ET (Green flag approx. 2:45 p.m. ET) - NBC (Radio: Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: Kevin Harvick won the race at Texas and the guaranteed spot in the Championship Round next weekend at Homestead-Miami, until he got penalized for an illegal spoiler Wednesday morning, wiping out his win for the purposes of advancing and docking him 40 points. That puts Harvick just above the cutoff for the four-driver finale. ... Joey Logano punched his ticket to the championship race with a victory at Martinsville, so he's the only driver safely through as the series heads to Phoenix. ... Harvick has to feel confident, though, as he has won an astonishing nine times at Phoenix, including the race there this spring. ... The track layout remains the same, but a complete rebuild of the Phoenix facility has moved the start/finish line to the dogleg portion of what used to be Turn 2, an area that sees plenty of action and will hopefully set up a last-lap pass for the win. ... This is the 35th of 36 races on the season, and is the 45th series race at ISM Raceway. ... Matt Kenseth, no longer a full-time driver, won this race last fall. ... None of the drivers in the bottom four have won at Phoenix. ... Kyle Busch leads the points in his Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota (4,128 points, second in the standings), followed by JGR's Martin Truex Jr. (4,125, third), Team Penske Ford driver *Logano (4,119, first) and Stewart-Haas Racing Ford driver Harvick (4,103, fourth), SHR's Kurt Busch (4,100, fifth), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet driver Chase Elliott (4,086, sixth), SHR's Aric Almirola (4,068, seventh) and SHR's Clint Bowyer (4,052, eighth).

(All stats and standings per

*Denotes race win and berth in the championship race.

NASCAR XFINITY SERIES: WHELEN TRUSTED TO PERFORM 200 (200 laps, 200 miles around a 1-mile tri-oval), ISM Raceway; Avondale, Arizona.

TV: Saturday, 3:30 p.m. ET (Green flag approx. 3:45 p.m. ET) - NBC (Radio: Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: The series gears up for the final race in its Round of 8 at Phoenix after a big win from Cole Custer at Texas. Custer likely needed a win to advance and now he puts the other seven drivers in a nervous position to make the Homestead final four on Nov. 17. ... Phoenix is a challenge any time and the Xfinity cars usually put on a good show here. ... This is the 32nd of 33 races on the season and the 34th series race at ISM Raceway. ... Full-time Cup driver Brad Keselowski won here in the spring and fellow Cup driver William Byron won the fall race last year. ... Tyler Reddick leads the points (3,105, second in the standings), followed by Elliott Sadler (3,098, third), Daniel Hemric (3,097, fourth), Justin Allgaier (3,085, fifth), Matt Tifft (3,083, sixth), *Custer (3,081, first), Christopher Bell (3,063) and Austin Cindric (3,036).

(All stats and standings per

*Denotes race win and berth in the championship race.

NASCAR CAMPING WORLD TRUCK SERIES: LUCAS OIL 150 (150 laps, 150 miles around a 1-mile tri-oval), ISM Raceway; Avondale, Arizona.

TV: Friday, 8:30 p.m. ET (Green flag approx. 8:45 p.m. ET) - FS1 (Radio: Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: Justin Haley won at Texas after Johnny Sauter won at Martinsville, so two of the final four spots at Homestead are locked up in the series. That leaves four drivers vying for two remaining spots. ... Sauter won this race last season as the Trucks visit ISM Raceway just once a year. ... This is the 22nd of 23 races on the season and will be the 28th the series has run at Phoenix. ... *Sauter leads the Truck points and standings (3,128, first) followed by Brett Moffitt (3,109, third), Haley (3,107, second), Noah Gragson (3,105, fourth), Grant Enfinger (3,087, fifth) and Matt Crafton (3,082).

(All stats and standings per

*Denotes race win and berth in the championship race.


THIS WEEK: The 2019 season starts March 10 in St. Petersburg, Fla.

FORMULA ONE: BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX (71 laps, 190.083 miles around a 2.677-mile 15-turn permanent road course), Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace; Interlagos, Brazil.

TV: Sunday, 12 p.m. ET (Green flag approx. 12:10 p.m. ET) - ESPN2 (Radio: SiriusXM Radio Channel 132).

THIS WEEK: With the drama taken out of the title race, world champion Lewis Hamilton leads the series into one of its most popular events in Brazil. ... This will be the 36th series race held at the track and the 47th Brazilian Grand Prix held overall. ... Sebastian Vettel, second in the championship, won this race last year, with Hamilton taking the honors in 2016. ... This is one of the few circuits that run counter-clockwise and offers two high-speed sections as well as challenging - and undulating -- turns through the infield section from Turn 6 to 11. ... His fifth title ties Hamilton with Juan Manuel Fangio, with Germany's Michael Schumacher ahead of them with seven. ... Great Britain's Hamilton leads the standings and is the champion in his Mercedes (358 points), followed by Germany's Vettel, Ferrari (294), Finland's Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari (236), Finland's Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes (227) and Belgium's Max Verstappen, Red Bull (216).

NATIONAL HOT ROD ASSOCIATION: AUTO CLUB NHRA FINALS, Friday-Sunday, Auto Club Raceway at Pomona; Pomona, Calif.

TV: Eliminations, Sunday, 4-7 p.m. ET FS1 (live)

THIS WEEK: The 24th and final event of the season will see champions crowned in three pro classes, with Steve Torrence having locked up the Top Fuel dragster title at Las Vegas two weeks ago. ... The season always starts and ends at Pomona, so winners from the winter event will be looking to repeat on Sunday. Winter winners were Doug Kalitta in Top Fuel, Matt Hagan in Funny Car, Bo Butner in Pro Stock while the motorcycles did not compete. ... Winners at Vegas were Torrence, J.R Todd in Funny Car, Butner in Pro Stock and Hector Arana Jr. in Pro Stock Motorcycle. ... Torrence leads the Top Fuel standings and is the champion (2,718 points), with Clay Millican (2,487), Tony Schumacher (2,454), Leah Pritchett (2,394) and Brittany Force (2,302) rounding out the top five. ... Todd (2,553) leads Funny Car, with Robert Hight (2,479), Ron Capps (2,388), Tim Wilkerson (2,367) and Tommy Johnson Jr. (2,362) pursuing. ... Tanner Gray leads Pro Stock (2,583) followed by Jeg Coughlin Jr. (2,443), Erica Enders (2,434), Drew Skillman (2,413) and Vincent Nobile (2,404). ... In the tightest remaining championship battle, Matt Smith leads Pro Stock Motorcycle (2,479), followed by Eddie Krawiec (2,475), LE Tonglet (2,418), Arana (2,415) and Jerry Savoie (2,378).

--K. Lee Davis, Field Level Media

Comment about auto racing glance