Santos vs. Corinthians Pick & Prediction JUN 25TH 2022

bra | SOCCER
TV:
Logo Santos
VS
Logo Corinthians
OPENNER

CURRENT

MONEYLINE

0
SCORE
0

Corinthians vs. Santos: a promising duel

An exciting Brasileirao match awaits us this Saturday 6/25, the day on which the long-awaited 'Albinegro Duel' will take place between Corinthians de Vítor Pereira vs Santos de Fabián Bustos. Both teams are in need of a victory, but for different reasons.

Coringão will have to go out looking for the 3 points so as not to lose track of Palmeiras in this exciting fight for the leadership of the always competitive Brazilian league. Palmeiras is in the first position with 28 points in 13 games, and Corinthians is second with 25 points. However, even if they lose, their second place will not be in danger since Paranaense is third with 21 points.

Santos will try to hit the ground running to get a little closer to the Copa Libertadores positions, since they are currently eighth with 18 units and, if they win, they could even reach 5th position if Internacional loses.

Last 10 Corinthians matches

The 10 most recent games played by Timão show that it is a very difficult team to beat, since they won 3 times, drew 6 and lost just 1 time. For the Copa Libertadores, they went against what was indicated by sports predictions by taking 1 point from the much-feared Bombonera after getting a draw against Boca Juniors, which also did not help them much if we consider that they finished in second position in their group at tie against the weak Bolivian team, Always Ready, by 1-1 and, Boca Juniors, beat Deportivo Cali at home by 1-0.

However, the Brasileirao forecasts showed that they would salvage at least one tie in their visit to Cuiabá's home, something that was not possible after losing by the minimum against one of the 4 teams, which today are fighting for relegation from the Brazilian tournament. Their games are characterized by few goals, being the one played against Internacional on 5/14, the most recent in which they converted 3 or more. To conclude, in their last 10 matches they have scored 11 and suffered 8, which leaves a positive balance of 3 goals in favor.

Last 10 Santos matches

Santos' recent streak is similar to that of Corinthians, but a little worse overall. Of the most recent 10 they won just 2, lost 2 and tied the remaining 6. The defeat against the mighty Palmeiras by 0-1 fulfilled the Brasileirao predictions and, although they lost, it is worth noting that, defensively, they are a fairly solid club, which ends up being reflected in the number of draws achieved.

The other defeat was against Goiás by 1-0 as a visitor, something unexpected by the Peixe fans. The most notable draws were achieved against Atlético Mineiro by 1-1 and Paranaense by the same result.

In all these games they converted 10 goals and suffered 10, so the balance is neutral.

Background between both

The classic between Corinthians and Santos is one of the best duels in the Brazilian league due to the history of each one and the number of times they met. In the year 1913 the first game took place, with a victory of no less than 6-3 for the Santos side. However, after 4 games, Corinthians was able to win in 1917, winning 3-0 at the famous Vila Belmiro stadium, better known as Urbano Caldeira.

In total they have played a total of 307 matches, of which Corinthians won 123, Santos 98 and concluded with absolute parity in 86 matches. The most important meeting between these great clubs is the semifinal in the 2012 Copa Libertadores, in which Corinthians fulfilled the sports forecasts and went on to the final by achieving a 2-1 aggregate.

It should be noted that Timão destroyed sports betting by defeating Boca Juniors in the final of that same Libertadores.

The magnifying glass on...

Corinthians has a great left winger called Róger Guedes, characterized mainly by his dribbling, speed and also goal scoring. These are the reasons why he is currently the team's striker with 4 goals and 1 assist in 11 games played.

Another good striker with whom they can boast is Gustavo Mantuan, who has 1 goal less than Guedes and is key in the team's counterattacks. The leader in assists is left-back Lucas Piton, with 3 in 10 games.

The magnifying glass on…

True to the style of Peixe, they have discovered a new jewel, and his name is Marcos Leonardo. This 19-year-old centre-forward plays for the Brazilian U-20 team, and has scored no less than 6 goals in 11 games, so it would not be strange for European clubs to fight over him.

In addition, Léo Baptistão is another of the key players in Santos thanks to his past in Europe and his ability to assist and score goals.

Sports bets

In the field of sports betting, we must say that Corinthians is the best candidate to take the victory in this Albinegro match, since it pays 2.1 while the draw is quoted at 3.2 and, the victory of Santos, approximately 3.75. Double chances look very tempting, as Corinthians-tie pays 1.28 (attractive for a combo), and Santos-tie is currently at 1.75, so it could be played as a single.

The rankings are relatively even, and if you beat this challenge, Corinthians will pay you 1.7, while Santos will pay you 2.1 for every peso invested. To conclude, the bet 'both to score' is quoted at 2.15.

Television and schedules

Argentina: 7:00 p.m. VIX.

Bolivia: 6:00 p.m. SPO International, ESPN2, ViX.

Brazil: 7:00 p.m. Premiere, NOW NET and Claro.

Chile: 7:00 p.m. SPO International, ViX.

Colombia and Ecuador: 5:00 p.m. ESPN2, ViX.

International Coverage: Fanatiz Brasileirão, Brasil Play.

Spain: 00h. SPO International.

United States: 6 p.m. Paramount+, Premiere, SPO International, ViX.

Mexico: 5:00 p.m. ViX, ESPN3 Mexico, Star+, Fanatiz Mexico.

Paraguay and Venezuela: 6:00 p.m. ESPN2, ViX.

Peru: 5:00 p.m. ViX, ESPN2, SPO International.

Uruguay: 7:00 p.m. SPO International, ESPN2, ViX.

TOP EXPERTS
  • ALL
  • NFL
  • NBA
  • MLB
  • NHL
  • NCAAF
  • NCAAB
Follow these and more than 15 experts for $ 35 a month Register Now